NEW! Google Custom Search

Loading

Cooking for a celiac

RuthWells's picture

Hi all,


I've been working on holiday menus this weekend, and need some suggestions.  Among my guests next month will be a vegetarian (who is allergic to tomatoes & anything in the onion family) and a celiac.  Needless to say, it's been a challenge to come up with fare that will suit these requirements!  I'm going to be making a few recipes from The Enchanted Broccoli Forest, but need a substitute for the wheat germ that she uses to add body to her mushroom pate (for the celiac).  Can anyone suggest a substitute?

TIA,


 


Ruth Wells

Ruth Wells

"Gardening is the only unquestionably useful job."
 - G.B. Shaw

www.lemonade-and-kidneys.blogspot.com

www.ruthssweetpleasures.com

http://www.pkdcure.org/Default.aspx?TabI...

TEChh's picture

(post #26910, reply #1 of 29)

Hi Ruth...Welcome to Cook's Talk.

I happen to be one of three(I believe) with celiac disease. The first thing that would be good is if you search the site for, I think "Celiac disease." There are many ingredients that have wheat, rye, barley and oats in them that people don't know about. Sadly, gluten seems to be found in everything.

I know you wanted a filler for the mushroom pate, but I can't seem to think of something. We, Celiacs know that it's not likely that we can eat everything at a dinner party.

If you would like, I would gladly look at the ingredients to see which items are celiac safe. Also, what are you preparing?

With more information I can better help you.

W

RuthWells's picture

(post #26910, reply #2 of 29)

Hi, W!  Thanks for the welcome -- I'm hopping over from OTF and have been lurking on CT for a while.  With the holidays coming, it's certainly time to get my feet wet!


As far as my menu planning goes, I always make sure that I've got a least a few dishes that don't include any grains whatever in order to safely accomodate my husband's cousin (the celiac) which often dovetails with providing vegetarian dishes (for my sister-in-law).  This is an annual holiday party that we give which pretty much consists of eating from 2 in the afternoon right through dinner time, with a brief pause for the kids to exchange presents!  So, it's a rondele of side dish & munchie-types of things, with a crescendo to "dinner food" later in the evening.


I know that the mushroom pate is safe but for the wheat germ -- it's 'shrooms, onions, ricotta, cream cheese, and not much else (fabulous recipe -- I always get requests for it).  I'm game to simply leave the wheat germ out and hope that it doesn't fall completely apart.  I found a nice roasted veg & white bean chile which looks safe as well.  I like the tsimmes recipe that Molly Katzen gives -- again, it's mostly vegetables & fruits.  We'll have a glazed ham, which should be safe, and a stilton & corn souffle (I won't use cream of tartar for the egg whites).  A green bean salad and an array of desserts will round things out.


Truly, it's almost harder to cook for my SIL, the vegetarian -- she can't eat tomatoes or anything in the onion family, which does narrow the field!  But it's been great fun pouring over the cookbooks & old Fine Cookings in search of ideas.  I will search the chat board for discussions of celiac disease and make sure I'm up on all the taboos.


Thanks!


 


Ruth Wells

Ruth Wells

"Gardening is the only unquestionably useful job."
 - G.B. Shaw

www.lemonade-and-kidneys.blogspot.com

www.ruthssweetpleasures.com

http://www.pkdcure.org/Default.aspx?TabI...

MadMom's picture

(post #26910, reply #3 of 29)

Ruth - The 'shroom pate sounds delicious.  Any chance we could get you to post your recipe?

Country bumpkins of the world...UNITE!

RuthWells's picture

(post #26910, reply #6 of 29)

Hi MadMom!  You talked me into it.  ;)


 


Mushroom & Cheese Pate, Molly Katzen, "The Enchanted Broccoli Forest"


4Tbs. butter, 3 cups chopped union, 1 lb. mushrooms (coarsely chopped)


½ tsp. salt (or to taste), 1 tsp. dry mustard, ½ tsp. dill weed, black pepper & cayenne to taste


3 Tbs. dry white wine, ¼ cup wheat germ (*but not for celiacs!!), 8 oz. neufchatel or cream cheese, 1 lb. ricotta cheese, paprika & minced parsley to garnish


Preheat oven to 400*.


Cook onions in butter in large, heavy skillet over medium heat until soft, about 5 minutes. Add mushrooms and all spices (except paprika). Stir well and cook over moderate heat, uncovered & stirring occasionally, for another 5 mintues. Add the wine & cook for another 5 minutes. Sprinkle & stir in the wheat germ, cook for another minute or two, and remove from heat. Cut the neufchatel or cream cheese into the hot mixture and puree in a food processor with the steel blade or in a blender. Transfer to a mixing bowl and whisk in the ricotta. The pate can be bake in 2 standard loaf pans or in a buttered casserole dish. If you use loaf pans, butter them and line them with buttered wax paper. Bake for 1.25 hours, uncovered, at 400* If you use the loaf pans, cool the pate in the pans and then remove it, peeling off the paper. Garnish with paprika & parsley.


[Ruth’s note – I always use the loaf pans, and while Molly claims that the texture will be more firm in a loaf pan, suitable for slicing, I’ve not found that to be the case. In fact, the one area where this recipe disappoints is presentation – the naked pate is not very attractive in color or texture. My hubby & I solve that problem by being very liberal with the paprika & parsley garnish. I do not exaggerate when I tell you that every time we serve this (and we’ve served it often) at least 1-2 people ask us for the recipe – it’s that good!]


 


Ruth Wells

Ruth Wells

"Gardening is the only unquestionably useful job."
 - G.B. Shaw

www.lemonade-and-kidneys.blogspot.com

www.ruthssweetpleasures.com

http://www.pkdcure.org/Default.aspx?TabI...

MadMom's picture

(post #26910, reply #7 of 29)

Thanks!  Unfortunately, presentation is always a problem when mushrooms are pureed...delicious cream of mushroom soup can look like really bad mud if you aren't careful...but that doesn't make it taste any less delicious.  Will definitely try this, although I'll have to cut it way down since there's just DH and I!

Country bumpkins of the world...UNITE!

RuthWells's picture

(post #26910, reply #8 of 29)

Yes, I would definitely cut it down if you're not serving a crowd -- we make the 2 loaves (they are very shallow loaves, but still) and one gets eaten at the party and we nibble on the other for a week.  Let me know how you like it!


 


Ruth Wells

Ruth Wells

"Gardening is the only unquestionably useful job."
 - G.B. Shaw

www.lemonade-and-kidneys.blogspot.com

www.ruthssweetpleasures.com

http://www.pkdcure.org/Default.aspx?TabI...

kai230's picture

(post #26910, reply #4 of 29)

Hi Ruth,


Is brewer's yeast ok for celiacs? It has a wonderfully nutty taste somewhat like toasted wheat germ. I don't think you could use the same amt, tho.

RuthWells's picture

(post #26910, reply #5 of 29)

Hi Kai,


Thanks for the suggestion, I will look into it!


 


Ruth Wells

Ruth Wells

"Gardening is the only unquestionably useful job."
 - G.B. Shaw

www.lemonade-and-kidneys.blogspot.com

www.ruthssweetpleasures.com

http://www.pkdcure.org/Default.aspx?TabI...

RuthWells's picture

(post #26910, reply #9 of 29)

Kai,


Welp, at celiacs.com they say to stay away from Brewer's Yeast.  Oh well.  It was a great suggestion though, so thanks!


Ruth Wells

Ruth Wells

"Gardening is the only unquestionably useful job."
 - G.B. Shaw

www.lemonade-and-kidneys.blogspot.com

www.ruthssweetpleasures.com

http://www.pkdcure.org/Default.aspx?TabI...

Wolvie's picture

(post #26910, reply #10 of 29)

do you think a rice or nut flour of some type would fill the bill??

Woe to the cook whose sauce has no sting
- Chaucer

 

RuthWells's picture

(post #26910, reply #11 of 29)

Hi Wolvie!  Great suggestion -- I'll go back to the web and vet rice & nut flours.  Or, maybe nuts ground very fine in the food processor?


 


Ruth Wells

Ruth Wells

"Gardening is the only unquestionably useful job."
 - G.B. Shaw

www.lemonade-and-kidneys.blogspot.com

www.ruthssweetpleasures.com

http://www.pkdcure.org/Default.aspx?TabI...

TEChh's picture

(post #26910, reply #12 of 29)

Hi again,


Ham's are often not safe! They have additives in them that contain wheat. In fact those additives that we forever must stay away from are:


Modified food starch


modified corn starch


modified starch


caramel coloring


caramel


as well as a myriad of others that are already posted on this site.


I know you don't want to make your cousin sick. So I REALLY would have her or I look over the recipes. There are 8 people in my family with Celiac Disease of which my mother is not and she still over looks unsafe ingredients. Just so you know, if I eat wheat I'm down for 3 or 4 days. Pretty much sucks!


Yeast is safe.

RuthWells's picture

(post #26910, reply #13 of 29)

Tec,


Thanks for the additional input.  I did notice when I googled some research last night that mustard powder is not safe, but my other spices were deemed okay.  One of my recipes calls for mustard powder, of course.  Can you tell me if regular jarred mustard is okay?  The list did not indicate.


Edited to add -- I appreciate your concern that my cousin look over the recipes.  The truth is that she has never been especially proactive about managing her disease, and in the past when I've asked her about specific ingredients and whether they're safe, the answer has been "I don't know" and no further iniative has been taken (like checking a resource list, or similar).  Which is why I'm being more proactive this year.  The celiac.com site, which I was checking out last night, seems to be pretty thorough.  I haven't had the clear time to haul all my cookbooks into the office to post an ingredients list, but will certainly research them one way or another!



Thanks!


Ruth Wells


Edited 11/11/2002 1:06:22 PM ET by RUTHWELLS

Ruth Wells

"Gardening is the only unquestionably useful job."
 - G.B. Shaw

www.lemonade-and-kidneys.blogspot.com

www.ruthssweetpleasures.com

http://www.pkdcure.org/Default.aspx?TabI...

TEChh's picture

(post #26910, reply #14 of 29)

Ruth,

Watch out for baking powder and vanilla(McCormick's is safe). Also, if you need a baking mix you can pick them up at a health food store.

The easiest time to watch for unsafe food is when you're at the grocery store. It takes a little time to read the labels, but in my opinion it's well worth it. At the same time you can watch for onion and tomato products. Like I said before print out the list of non-safe items and take that with you. It works wonders doing it that way.

I can relate to your cousin, it wasn't until the last couple of years that I really started to manage my diet.

TEC

kai230's picture

(post #26910, reply #15 of 29)

Not TEC, but I went to the forbidden list--


Mustard Powder 4


The following items may or may not contain gluten depending on where and how they are made, and it is sometimes necessary to check with the manufacturer to find out:

Artificial Color4
Artificial Flavoring6
Caramel Color1, 3
Dextrins1,7
Flavoring6
Hydrolyzed Plant Protein4
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein4
Maltodextrin8
Modified Food Starch1, 4
Modified Starch1, 4
Mono and Diglycerides1, 2
Monosodium Glutimate (MSG)1, 4
Natural Flavoring6
Starch1, 4
Wheat Starch5


  • 4) Can utilize a gluten-containing grain or by-product in the manufacturing process, or as an ingredient.

  • Of course I don't know which 4 they are referring to.


    So, if you can't find some w/out these (maybe a health food store?), check the regular mustard.


    Also, this entry, Ground Spices4 -- surely they mean pre-ground. If so, couldn't you grind some mustard seeds?


    Great advice from TEC to take the list w/you! http://www.celiac.com/cgi-bin/webc.cgi/st_prod.html?p_prodid=185&p_catid=12&sid=91hH9H0W-2n0E4Q-57102291782.ac

    martagon's picture

    (post #26910, reply #16 of 29)

    Darn, I've loaned out my celiac dictionary.  Mustard seed that you grind yourself would be o.k.   I don't think celiac.com is a 'recognized' celiac list.  Be careful of the information that you find over the web, errors abound. 


    4) Can utilize a gluten-containing grain or by-product in the manufacturing process, or as an ingredient.


    Of course I don't know which 4 they are referring to.  Just means that wheat flour has probably been added as an extender. 


    TEC mentions modified corn starch as off limits, but in Canada it is acceptable.  The modifying process doesn't add wheat up here.   As well , maltodextrin is ok here, as its made from corn,  but ingredients vary over the border.


     

    RuthWells's picture

    (post #26910, reply #17 of 29)

    Do you have a website that you recommend as being more trustworthy than celiac.com?  I appreciate all resources!

    Thanks,


     


    Ruth Wells

    Ruth Wells

    "Gardening is the only unquestionably useful job."
     - G.B. Shaw

    www.lemonade-and-kidneys.blogspot.com

    www.ruthssweetpleasures.com

    http://www.pkdcure.org/Default.aspx?TabI...

    kai230's picture

    (post #26910, reply #18 of 29)

    Thanks Martagon! To think that modified corn starch may or may not contain wheat is interesting--I hope the labels identify that. Dumb me, I would have expected it contained corn. Perhaps in the US it contains just enough wheat to be a prob, but not enough to list as an ingredient?


    Edit: BTW, the 4 rating that I didn't know which was being referenced was


    Artificial Color4
     
     <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

    Hydrolyzed Plant Protein4
    Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein4
     Modified Food Starch1, 4
    Modified Starch1, 4

    Monosodium Glutimate (MSG)1, 4
    Starch1, 4


    Edited 11/11/2002 6:39:33 PM ET by kai

    martagon's picture

    (post #26910, reply #19 of 29)

    All those ingredients with the '4' listed can have wheat  used.  HVP and HPP can be made from soy, or corn, or wheat.   Starch is always suspect unless specified.   I didn't spend long enough at the 'celiac.com' site to fully check it out.  But if they're identifying maltodextrin as a probelm, then I'd want to check the rest.  Maltodextrin here is made from corn syrup, not from barley.  I won't give you the list of safe malt... and unsafe malt..... without my dictionary.  (eg maltol, malt flavouring, malt syrup, )


    I only fully trust the Canadian Celiac Association, and your Rochester Celiac Association.  I have learned a lot from the Rochester group, just google it to find the website.   I have seen lists with teff listed as unsafe, (it's ok) and sites with kamut and spelt listed as safe (they're definitely wheat and off-limits). 


    One of the big problems for celiac is the hidden flour.  Artificial and natural flavours are a problem, as the wheat isn't listed in such an encompassing term.  Might be ok, might not be.  Dry roasted peanuts don't list flour, since it's not an ingredient, but the flour is used on the line to 'dry' them off.  Some candies are the same way, flour is used on the line to prevent sticking, but it isn't listed on the label.


    The worst problem faced by celiacs that I have found is that, when you ask about flour, the easy way out is to tell you 'if you're allergic to it, it's in my food.'  Saves them the bother of checking it out. 


     


     

    kai230's picture

    (post #26910, reply #20 of 29)

    Artificial and natural flavours are a problem, as the wheat isn't listed in such an encompassing term.  Might be ok, might not be.  Dry roasted peanuts don't list flour, since it's not an ingredient, but the flour is used on the line to 'dry' them off.  Some candies are the same way, flour is used on the line to prevent sticking, but it isn't listed on the label.


    Thanks for that wealth of info and for mention of "Canadian Celiac Association, and your Rochester Celiac Association" as the best sources for valid info. I should probably go back to my "forbidden foods" post and add links from these sources, while referring to your posts.

    TEChh's picture

    (post #26910, reply #21 of 29)

    Hi Old Friend,


    Missed seeing your nice words around these places. Hope all is well up north.


    TEC

    TEChh's picture

    (post #26910, reply #22 of 29)

    Martagon,


    Tell me about your "dictionary." Is it the regular Celiac Association book of safe foods?


    TEC


    Kai,


    Didn't know you were Celiac.

    kai230's picture

    (post #26910, reply #23 of 29)

    TEC, I'm not celiac that I know of; just now getting around to researching some abt it. I wanted to verify yeast v. brewers yeast.

    TEChh's picture

    (post #26910, reply #24 of 29)

    yeast is safe.

    kai230's picture

    (post #26910, reply #26 of 29)

    Thanks TEC, I gathered that from the list--although it appears that list is not what I should use as a definitive source.


    My GF has learned she is allergic to almost everything--I'm surprised she hasn't had to be put in a bubble. She's allergic to things like the ink used to print books, and she is/was an avid reader and works in a school library :-(


     

    RuthWells's picture

    (post #26910, reply #27 of 29)

    I read that Brewer's yeast isn't safe...


     


    Ruth Wells

    Ruth Wells

    "Gardening is the only unquestionably useful job."
     - G.B. Shaw

    www.lemonade-and-kidneys.blogspot.com

    www.ruthssweetpleasures.com

    http://www.pkdcure.org/Default.aspx?TabI...

    kai230's picture

    (post #26910, reply #28 of 29)

    Right. Brewer's isn't safe, baker's is.

    RuthWells's picture

    (post #26910, reply #29 of 29)

    I don't have enough RAM to keep all this in my memory!!!  Thank god for computers.


    :)


     


    Ruth Wells

    Ruth Wells

    "Gardening is the only unquestionably useful job."
     - G.B. Shaw

    www.lemonade-and-kidneys.blogspot.com

    www.ruthssweetpleasures.com

    http://www.pkdcure.org/Default.aspx?TabI...

    martagon's picture

    (post #26910, reply #25 of 29)

    Hi Tracy:


    Yes, it's a 'dictionary' from the Cnd Celiac Assoc which lists common food additives, and whether or not they are safe,  also tells you the source, just to help clarify things.  I loaned it out, and really miss it, so I think I better get it back.   They also have one that lists common commercial foods,  i.e. products from Heinz, etc, that are safe. 


    I'm not sure about the brewer's yeast - - Is it because it has been in contact with the barley that it becomes a not safe food?????


    I've been popping in and out, but haven't really been taking much time here lately.   However, when i see a celiac posting, I can't help but butt in.  My daughters have gotten me into horses, and we seem to be spending too much time thinking horse.  Haven't got one (or two) yet, but spending inordinate amount of time with them.